Technical Difficulties…and a new view

03/16/2011 at 3:58 pm 3 comments

I know I promised updates to the etsy shop this week, and a farm update….however, I’ve misplaced the battery charger for my camera, and it’s dead, dead, dead.  I’ve ordered a new one, and it should be here soonish.  When it arrives, I have many things to document and share.

In the meantime, my big dying Butternut Tree is no more.  I have a whole new view from my picture window.   I made a barter deal with my neighbor’s intern, Kevin a while back.  He agreed to take this tree down for me in exchange for, get this, yarn! 

As seen from my window Sunday morning.

And after, same view.

When I cam home on Sunday afternoon there was a huge pile of wood in various stages of being chopped and split spewed over the snow covered yard.  Amazing!  I had expected to find big hunks of tree that I would later deal with, but Kevin just chopped and split wood like a mad man, breaking not just one, but two splitting mauls, the brute.  (yes, he repaired them)  And, if that wasn’t enough, he then proceeded to fix my wobbly table, that has confounded me for years, in about 5 minutes.   Believe me when I tell you I sent him off to PA with a LOT of yarn, commercial, handspun, yarn from my goats, any yarn he wanted.   That’s right folks, an intelligent young man who crochets, logs, farms and bakes bread, Kevin, you’re my new hero.  Best of luck to you in all of your  future adventures.  Don’t forget to send pictures of your wooly creations.

Once again, I find myself  assuming an attitude of gratitude.  I’m so thankful for all of the helping hands that appear whenever I’m in need, and I sure hope that I’m able to return even half of the favors that have been done for me.  Life is not easy, but boy is it good.  I’m thinking of having “Thank You” tattooed on my forehead 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Playing with Poop and a Poke in the Eye

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  03/16/2011 at 5:04 pm

    That is awesome…bartering is sometimes the way to go! BTW – can you use that wood to burn in a woodstove or fireplace? I can’t remember if you have either…

    Reply
  • 2. countryelvis4  |  03/16/2011 at 5:08 pm

    Yup, I’ll use it in my woodstove…it’s a great start on next year’s heat supply.

    Reply
  • 3. Leslie Cooper  |  03/23/2011 at 10:53 am

    Who needs a sugar daddy when you can have one of those!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

