Transitions….and a farm update.

03/06/2011 at 11:24 am 5 comments

Everything is about transitions for me right now.  I have just last week officially become the solo owner of the farm.  I’m going thru a divorce at the moment, which is probably the biggest transition.  The death of that dream of partnership is very hard, I never anticipated having to do it all on my own.  It’s been a few weeks now, and I’m getting into a groove with it, but especially in the winter, it’s a lot to take on alone.  I’m not complaining, mind you.  I am absolutely thrilled that I am able to do it, financially, and physically able.  But, it’s time consuming, and at the end of the day, I’m exhausted.  Hence, my blogging has suffered. 

There’s loads of good news though.  I finally have internet service at my home, which you would think would make blogging regularly easier, and once I get caught up with cleaning that man and his stuff out of my house, I’m sure it will be.  Also, if the snow and cold would let up that would help too.  I entirely underestimated how much time lugging wood and shoveling snow off the roofs of the house and barns takes.  That’s the one set of chores that my STBX would reliably do.  By the time this winter is past, I should be extra strong, and my plans for winter preparations next year are already under way, new and improved, streamlined in ways that work for me.

I am so fortunate that I have wonderful neighbors and friends, and anytime I start feeling a little down or overwhelmed, someone shows up to lend a hand, or invites me for dinner, or I get wonderfully supportive cards and gifts in the mail.  I feel like the luckiest woman on earth most days.  

I am currently in the process of getting my Fall shearing ready for sale, and contemplating doing a fiber/yarn CSA for the spring shearing.   If anyone has any thoughts one way or another on that, please share them in the comments.  I have some time to think about this transition.  

 My 2 does, Tallulah and Nola, are most likely pregnant, and should be kidding around the end of April, first week of May.  So, I’m madly reading everything I can get my hands on about kidding, setting up a kidding stall, and gathering supplies for that.   I’m super excited that finally I’ll get to bring some life into the world here on the farm.    The old saying “You’re not a farmer until you’ve had a birth and a death on your farm”  rings in my head…I’ve had death, that was so hard, I’m more than ready for the births.  I can’t wait to have kids sproinging around in the pasture, there is absolutely nothing cuter in the world than baby goats.  I’ll keep you posted on that.

I’m also making plans for some summer workshops on the farm, and some work weekends to get some big projects done that I can’t do alone.  More on that as things solidify in my mind.   I have so many plans, projects, and events whirling around in my head that I don’t want to say too much now.   But, be sure that I’ll make some announcements, and maybe even do some polls to help me figure it all out. 

For now, I just want to say a big THANK YOU!! to everyone of you who has been reading and following along, both here and on ravelry and facebook.  You will never know how much your support means to me.  While I’m alone in most of the day to day processes of the farm, I never feel like I’m really alone, and thanks to you.   What an amazing gift you all are.

I promise next post to give you some pictures, I can’t find my camera’s cable right now.  I’ll also be updating my etsy shop soon, so look for an announcement any day.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Snow, snow and more snow….

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zach  |  03/06/2011 at 3:03 pm

    Kristen, I am so thrilled to pieces for you that you are thinking, planning, and doing things in new and exciting ways. It’s always a joy to catch up, and even more so to see you, so let’s arrange a visit soon! Here or there, no matter. xoxoxo

    Reply
  • 2. christina  |  03/06/2011 at 4:45 pm

    I’m glad you see a light at the end of the tunnel even if there’s some slogging through to do yet. Spring and summer will fly by, I’m sure.
    As for a CSA — I’m always interested in local fiber 🙂
    –christina

    Reply
  • 3. Sara  |  03/06/2011 at 6:32 pm

    I’m so excited for you and I know that the plans you have for your wonderful flock and farm with be really fun. Can’t wait to see what happens…

    Reply
  • 4. clemscritters  |  03/06/2011 at 7:01 pm

    I am thrilled for you….. there’s absolutely, positively nothing you can’t do on your own. Women are much more powerful than they are given credit for. You’ll do great things yourself, and if someday you find someone to share it with, that’s the icing on the cake.

    Reply
  • 5. Jennifer King  |  03/06/2011 at 10:54 pm

    Good for you! I’m so happy for you and wishing you well. xoxoxxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

