Happy New Year!

12/30/2010 at 5:59 pm 4 comments

Enjoying the sunshine on Christmas Eve Day.

I intended to do a Christmas/Holiday post for y’all last week, but, Christmas didn’t go as planned this year, and I just couldn’t do it.  You see, Vigo, my trusty guard llama, passed away on Christmas day, and we’re all pretty heartbroken around the farm.  He wasn’t ill, that I’m aware of, but somehow managed to get himself tangled in the fence, in the middle of the night.  When I found him in the morning , he was nearly frozen, and barely alive.   With the help of my husband, several neighbors, and my sister, I was able to get him back in the barn, and warmed back up.  We tried various homeopathic and medical treatments to revive him, we massaged him, we fed him drenches of electrolytes, probiotics, aloe vera gel, and molasses in our attempts to get him energized and up on his feet.  We spoke to the emergency vet on duty to get suggestions of other things to try.  His temp was back to normal, heart rate and respiratory rates were normal, but he still wasn’t responding, he couldn’t even hold his head up.  His eyes were doing a weird back and forth thing (known in the medical world as nystagmus) which really convinced my sister that he may have suffered a brain injury, either from falling or hitting his head, or from internal organs shutting down from hypothermia.  I’ll never really know what it was that got him.  All I can say is that we tried everything that we could, and he just didn’t make it.    We are all just heartbroken over the loss.  Myself, the goats and sheep, my friends and neighbors, we’re all feeling a bit lost and disoriented.  I hadn’t realized just how much of a sense of security his presence had been providing me.  He came to me out of the blue, became a stalwart and trusted member of the flock/herd, and was loved by all.  He was a very special llama, and while I may find another good guardian llama, Vigo is irreplaceable.  He is sorely missed and I hope he knows how much he was loved.  I have a vision of Vigo and Pedey watching over the farm from the big pasture in the sky…

Vigo in the snow

On a happier note, I think that Four aka Mr. Man, has been doing his job, and I’m hopeful that Nola and Tallulah will give us some kids this May.  I’m definitely ready to experience the happier birthing part of farming, so everyone, fingers crossed that the girls are preggers and stay healthy and strong.   I know I’ll be doing my best to keep them in tip top condition.

Four!

This past year has been really incredible.  It’s had it’s highs and lows, certainly, but I’ve learned so much.  I get to live my dream every day, caring for my flock is the best part of my day.   Hauling hay and water to my furry friends is my best exercise, the soft noses nuzzling my hands is my best medicine, and prepping, dyeing and spinning their fiber is my best work (or is it play, I’m not really sure).  I feel amazingly blessed to be able to live this life.  I have great friends, amazing neighbors, and such supportive family that I know that I can face anything.  Sometimes my lessons are hard won, but I wouldn’t trade the experiences for anything, for they help to shape me into a real farmer, a real shepherd (or goatherd?), and they make me who I am today.  And guess what?  I really like who I am today.  It’s been a long and winding road getting here, and it’s far, far from where I thought I would be if you had asked me 10 or 20 years ago, but I really love my life.   Who’d a thunk it?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Big Man on Pasture Fresh Winter Faces

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  12/30/2010 at 6:23 pm

    While there is much sadness in your loss of Vigo – I know that you were wonderful to him and to your lovely flock. You have come such a long way from when I first met you – as a shepherd (or goat herder) – and as a human being. I honestly think you found the life you were meant to live!!!

    Reply
  • 2. riniray  |  01/01/2011 at 5:11 pm

    I am sorry for your loss, and I never got to meet Vigo. But you did all you could. Vera started a blog a few weeks ago. You should check it out. There is a link on my blog. It is called Balladart.

    Reply
  • 3. Rick Scully  |  01/05/2011 at 9:01 am

    I am so sorry about your loss, K. 😦

    Reply
  • 4. sara  |  01/06/2011 at 8:44 pm

    I am so sorry to hear about your llama. How tragic. It’s awful to lose our animal children/friends/angels.

    😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

