Big Man on Pasture

12/20/2010 at 5:11 pm 4 comments

Nose in the feed bag...literally

Four, aka Mr. Man, finally got to meet the rest of the flock this weekend.  After spending a week with Nola and Tallulah in the honeymoon suite, he then spent another week with my sister’s Nigerian Dwarf does, Alice and Betty.  If I had any doubts that he knows what to do, they were removed as soon as Betty set foot in the stall. 

I used his time in the big barn to get to know him, and to trim his feet alot.  He had a bit of hoof rot when I picked him up, and rather than leave him to be treated by his former owner, I opted to treat him myself, as part of our getting to know each other.  His feet are looking much, much better, and he is amazingly calm when I work on them, very different from the rest of my goats.  I sure hope that’s a genetic trait that can be passed down to the kids.

Anyway, my sister’s does went home and his feet were looking much better so I brought him down to the lower barn to meet the rest of the gang.  There was much sniffing, some head butting, some chasing and hurtling around the pasture and barn, but after about two hours everyone had calmed down, pecking order restored, and everyone is getting along famously.  If he didn’t do the deed with Nola and Tallulah during their first honeymoon period, I’m sure he’ll fix that now.  He’s fitting right in, and I promise to post more pics soon.  I just have to remember to put the memory card back in the camera once in a while 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Introducing Four, aka Mr. Man! Happy New Year!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MINItron  |  12/20/2010 at 9:48 pm

    Four sure is a handsome fella.

    Reply
  • 2. tom dockery  |  12/21/2010 at 8:42 am

    Kristen,
    He is a handsome devil. I am glad things went good for you. Much better than things went here. I am not sure which ones bred and which ones did not but spring will tell. Jethro still is kicking around as that mask is really helping his disposition but I do know that is only temporary. I will deal with all this after the holidays. Merry Christmas and good luck with the hoof rot. That can be a bear to get rid of and watch the others, it is contagious but it seems you have it under control.

    Reply
  • 3. Rebecca  |  12/23/2010 at 2:00 pm

    What a sweetie! Is Mr. Man part of the Gilead Goats flocks to stay? And does he have a first name??

    Reply
  • 4. vidivi7  |  12/26/2010 at 3:32 pm

    hi, it is vera. Mr. Man is a funny name. I got a blog for Christmas. it is called balladart. here is the adress- http://www.balladart.wordpress.com.
    there is a link from marina’s blog

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

