Shearing did happen.

10/15/2010 at 11:42 am 6 comments

Seymour, freshly shorn.

Even though I have hardly any photos of it.  Turns out my shearer is camera shy.  But everyone got their seasonal ‘dos done last Friday.  Of course, Miss Anna didn’t like the idea of that and made a run for it as soon as our attention was turned on Miss Susie.  I did finally get her as the last of the goats were getting shorn, and after a bit of a tumble down the hill, managed to get her into Gwen’s capable hands for shearing.  Everyone is looking good too, body condition was better than I expected. 

There's a whole lotta sniffin' goin' on.

After a few days of butt sniffing, and head butting, the gang has settled back into their usual roles and we’re all gearing up for winter.  We’ve had a few cold mornings with hard frost, and I found the goats a little shivery those mornings, so I throw a little more hay for them.  I’m glad I didn’t wait any longer since it seems the cold and rain are in a hurry to get here this year. 

I did get a loom last weekend too, and will post some pics of that when I get it warped and it looks like something useful.  It’s an older Harrisville Designs 4 harness floor loom, with a 22″ weaving width.  I figure it’s perfect to get me started.  I’m off to Rhinebeck for the NY Sheep and Wool Festival this weekend and hope to score some accessories, like a warping board and raddle so I can get started weaving asap!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Fall is here…. National Hug a Sheep Day!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zach  |  10/15/2010 at 1:04 pm

    Oh, Seymour looks so handsome! And the flock looks goofy all together and naked like that. But goofy in a good way. Good luck with your loom parts searching.

    Reply
  • 2. clemscritters  |  10/15/2010 at 5:07 pm

    hey, hoping to make Rhinebeck on Sunday this year….. I’m looking for a warping board too! maybe we’ll meet up

    Reply
  • 3. Benita  |  10/17/2010 at 5:20 pm

    My first (and still my favorite) loom is a 4 H Harrisville loom just like yours. Does yours have rachet locks for both the front and back beams, or does it have a tension for the warp beam? I can’t wait to see what you weave!

    The goats look great. I think it is hilarious that they don’t recognize each other after they get shorn and have to get to know each other again. How much fiber did you get?

    Reply
    • 4. countryelvis4  |  10/18/2010 at 9:45 am

      I’m glad to hear that it’s still your favorite loom, bodes well for my choice. And yes, mine has rachet locks for both front and back beams. I got all the necessary accessories at Rhinebeck and can’t wait to get started 🙂

      I crack up at the goat (and sheep) antics right after shearing, all the sniffing and head butting that goes on is hilarious. And they always end up back in the same pecking order as before. I haven’t weighed the fiber yet. I decided to wait til after Rhinebeck to start working on it. The first batch is soaking now 🙂 They tend to average about 3 1/2 to 4 pounds per goat.

      Reply
  • 5. Rebecca  |  10/19/2010 at 8:54 am

    I just love getting updates on your growing flock! I hope that everybody is happy with their new haircuts.

    Reply
  • 6. riniray  |  10/25/2010 at 4:15 pm

    They look so much different after they have been sheered. Halloween is coming, read about it on my blog.

    🙂 Rini

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

