Fall is here….

10/05/2010 at 11:04 am 2 comments

and things are busy around here.  Last weekend was the VT Sheep & Wool Festival at the Tunbridge Fairgounds, which is about 20 miles away from me.  I joined up with my friends Kristin and Heather of Good Fibrations, a little central VT fiber cooperative, to help man the booth.  It was my first time vending anywhere, and it was really fun.  Thanks to everyone who came by our booth to say hello and fondle all the handspun yarns and hand dyed fiber.  It was really cool to put some faces to the names that show up in the comments here, and on ravelry, and sell some of my handspun yarns.  Hearing people’s comments about colors, textures and fiber was very interesting and has given me lots of ideas about what people are looking for in handspun yarn, it was very educational.  And I might add, it was really cool that people liked and bought my handspun yarns.   I’ll admit to being a little surprised, even though that was the idea of it.  I apologize to anyone who was hoping for mohair yarn, I’m holding out on that until I get the rest back from the mills. I’m going to be doing the Green Mountain Fiber Festival next month, Nov. 21 and 22, down in White River Junction, VT.  This is where I will be unveiling the yarn and rovings from the Spring shearing of the goats.   If you’re in VT or NH I hope you’ll consider attending.  There will be wonderful vendors, tons of classes and workshops in everything from spinning, to needle felting, to handpainting yarn and fiber, to making buttons and steeking.  It’s being held at the Hotel Coolidge, which is conveniently located across the street from the Amtrak station in historic White River Junction, VT.  The hotel is offering discounted rooms to people attending the festival too, so you could make a weekend of it, get some Christmas shopping done, and pick up some new knitting or spinning or dyeing skills.  Sounds like a winner to me, and I hope if you go, you’ll come introduce yourself.

In other farm news, we’re gearing up for our Fall shearing, which I think will be happening on Friday the 8th, but I’m still waiting for final confirmation from the shearer on that.  This will be my first good close up look at the fleeces from Susie and Anna, and I’m really looking forward to that.   If it’s half as nice as I think it’s going to be, I’ll be in Shetland heaven.  The fencing project is still ongoing, and probably will be for years to come.  I’m hoping to get that shed up by the end of the month as well.  A few neighbors have volunteered to help and round up some more volunteers, and we’re just trying to find a date that will work for everyone.  As soon as that is set, I’ll post it here in case anyone local wants to lend a hand.

I’ve also recently fallen in love with weaving.  My friend Bonny, of Fleece On Earth, invited me down to her studio for a weaving lesson a couple of weekends ago.  She was amazingly patient and a great teacher, and at the end of the day I had a complete scarf, made from one of my very first skeins of handspun yarn.   I think it came out great, and I’m uber proud of it.  I had enough yarn left over to make a hat with, and I wore them to the Sheep & Wool Festival all weekend, so some of you may have already seen them.  Of course, now I’m hot to get a loom of my own. 

Wave Rock Scarf

 Sorry for the lack of photos of the festival or the flock, my camera got buried at the festival so I didn’t take any pictures, and now it’s not cooperating either.  It may be time for a new camera….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Shearing did happen.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deborah Gregoire  |  10/05/2010 at 4:49 pm

    Hello Kristen. It was fun to share some space with you at the Sheep and Wool Festival. Your first woven scarf is beautiful ! Good Luck at the Green Mountain Fiber Festival next month. We are really looking forward to Rhinebeck!!!! Deborah

    Reply
  • 2. Sara  |  10/10/2010 at 9:54 am

    Hey, girl – I am planning on attending the WRJ thing – and looking so forward to seeing you!!! – Until then I’m buried in boxed – and unpacking at my new home!!!

    Sounds like you have been busy, busy!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

