Corn Husk Fever

09/10/2010 at 3:41 pm 13 comments

Tallulah loves the corn

nom, nom, nom

She likes it

I’ve been spoiling the flock with lots of corn husks, and the occasional ear of wonky corn of late.  I collect food from a few local restaurants to feed to our pigs, and lately one of them has been going hog wild for fresh corn.  They kindly keep the corn husks separate from the rest of the food waste, since I discovered that the goats love them, much more so than the pigs.  Every couple of days I get a grain sack full of husks and ugly corn, and I spread them around the pasture.  The goats, and lately the sheep and Vigo even, go crazy running around the pasture eating them up, sometimes they even fight over them.  I took a great video of the corn husk fever, but I can’t figure out how to post it, which is too bad.

In other news, the never ending fencing project continues.  Right now, the permanent fence is up around 2/3 of the middle pasture, with electric net fencing rounding it out, so the flock has access to the full middle pasture at last.  No more daily moving of the fence, hooray!  So far, they’ve respected the new fence, and don’t appear to have any desire to wander, now that they can get more shade from the big pines up in the top part of the pasture.

Susie, chillin' in the new pasture

They all love it up there, there’s tons of brush, small saplings and huge pine trees up there.  It’s also near to the road, and my neighbors have been enjoying be able to watch the flock as they travel along the road.  I  hope to get the bottom portion of permanent fence up over the next couple of weekends. 

I’m fortunate to have 2 barns.  One is right next to my house (and the road) and one is smaller and down in the middle pasture.  The one up by the house is where I kept the goats last winter, and it was a mess by the time I brought them down to the lower barn for the summer.  I attempted to clean it with my regular garden pitchfork, and I cried as I realized it was going to take me the rest of my natural life to do it that way.  I couldn’t figure it out, I mean, people do this all the time, how come I couldn’t get the hay (and manure) out of that barn?  I noticed when I visited my sister that she had a couple of different kinds of pitchforks around in her (horse) barn.  So, I went to the hardware store and looked at pitchforks/rakes.  Who knew there were so many different kinds?  I felt like a bit of a schmuck not having noticed this before, considering that I live in a rural area and almost all my neighbors have livestock of one kind or another, why hadn’t anyone told me?    I broke down and purchased a new hay fork for $30, took it home and attacked that stall full of old bedding, and guess what?  That hay fork did the job, beautifully!  I mean, it’s still shoveling shit and all, but in about an hour I had 1/4 of it out of there.  Granted, it’s gonna take me another 5 hours or so to finish, but my plan is to just do a little every day, so I don’t break my back, and it’ll be all clean and ready for the winter by next week.  I’m so excited about my new hay fork  that  I have also completely cleaned out the lower barn.  Mucked the stalls down to the floor, hosed it out, applied some stall dry and fresh straw.  The look on Vigo’s face when he walked in to the nice fresh smelling barn was priceless, I so wish I had gotten a picture of that. 

Sweet Nola

Fall is finally in the air around here….leaves are starting to turn, the days are cooler, and shorter.  It’s dark when I get up in the morning already!   Soon it will be shearing time again.    I’ve decided that I’d like to breed the does this year too, so I’m starting to look for a buck now.  If anyone out there knowsof a handsome angora buck in the area let me know.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sheep update

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. riniray  |  09/10/2010 at 4:16 pm

    Its cute how the sheep eat the corn husks……………..by the way I got an ipod touch for my birthday and i have been writing my blog from it. I wrote something new and I think you should check it out.

    Rini 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Benita  |  09/13/2010 at 2:32 pm

    So, by spreading the wonky corn and shucks, it’s rather like Easter egg hunting for the goats, huh?

    Sign up for You Tube, upload the video there, then you can embed it into your posts so we can all see.

    Reply
  • 3. carrie  |  09/30/2010 at 7:34 pm

    Everyone looks so happy!!! Just fyi – first issue of my eNewsletter comes out tomorrow and the topic is fall breeding prep. You can sign up on the website. Otherwise, the info will be on the blog next week. Love your goats!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Joansie  |  10/04/2010 at 12:39 pm

    Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. That’s me……..”a day late and a dollar short”. Guess I should have gone to the S&W Festival. Oh, well….next year.

    I’m adding your blog to my Google Reader. Glad you include the link in your comment to me.

    Reply
  • 5. webpage  |  08/04/2013 at 10:41 am

    My good friend and colleague David Duncan offered this
    advice, which works like a charm. Open image in Paint application3.
    google light emitted from stars and ogoogler
    objects taking millions of years in google past. I was struggling getting an image to paste into Report Writer
    recently. google tipping point has passed. Return to Picture Definition.
    Way to go Mark and thanks for sharing your expertise!

    It has always been a point for movies, including Rounders,
    Ocean’s Eleven and 2012. Coastal lands may become compromised if coral reefs die.

    Reply
  • 6. http://blonnik-naturalny.pl  |  01/11/2014 at 3:56 am

    Błonnik Witalny
    I simply could not depart your website prior to suggesting
    that I really enjoyed the standard information a person supply in your visitors?
    Is gonna be again often to investigate cross-check new posts

    Reply
  • 7. Verena  |  02/28/2014 at 12:06 am

    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something
    to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon.
    Thanks

    Reply
  • 8.  |  04/20/2014 at 1:27 am

    カセットコンロ買って鍋焼きうどんでも食うたらええねん
    ローラぶっさいくじゃねーか 夢に向かってパワー全開!

    Reply
  • 9. link  |  05/03/2014 at 8:02 am

    Celebrities, as in different case, are invariably the safe bet
    to attend when an intriguing and juicy story is on demand.
    Sure there are some great general apps, but we also check out specific options according for a tastes and hobbies, plus
    the best RSS readers to maintain you updated.
    Alexa’s depth of info and exposure to broadcast media make her a fantastic source of information for anyone seeking a broadcast
    journalism career. Another advantage of the news sites is that you simply can give your email ID
    to get alerts about latest updates on a selected topic.

    Reply
  • 10. chrome picolinate effects  |  05/04/2014 at 2:56 pm

    Whether it be over a hundred pounds, or just simply five to ten
    vanity pounds, this v3 diet pill will deliver.

    Gathering extra weight is not good for the health of the person concerned.

    Reply
  • 11. cheapest luke bryan tickets  |  05/29/2014 at 7:58 pm

    Quite fine! From the way where did you get that picture?

    Reply
  • 12. upcoming concerts  |  06/13/2014 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks. Good post

    Reply
  • 13. Yvette  |  06/13/2014 at 6:55 pm

    I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading incredibly slow
    for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a
    issue on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

