Sheep update

08/06/2010 at 4:55 pm 7 comments

Sweet Anna

Social Susie

I realize that I haven’t given much info about the rogue sheep lately.   They have been happy to stay home since their big walkabout, thankfully.  They are adjusting to their new digs really well.   They’ve made friends with the goats, and they still love Vigo. 

They’ve gotten much more friendly, and have decided that they do like to get scritches under their chins after they gorge themselves on corn husks.  (the local restaurant’s been using loads of fresh corn, and the goats and sheep like the husks much more than the pigs, so they get ’em all)   They’re still a little skittish with new people, but we’re working on that.  I even got Susie to allow me to put a sheep halter on her one day last week.   That was a first for both of us, and she was very patient while I figured it all out.   We took a little stroll around the pasture and while she didn’t love being led, she didn’t fight it either (I so wish I could take pics of these things while I’m doing them).  So, progress is progress.  We’re all getting to know each other better, and trust is deepening day by day. 

I’m hoping to finish off the perimeter fencing this weekend.   Next up, lining up the volunteers for shed building.  My original volunteers haven’t been able to coordinate a good time to all meet up, so I’m looking at plan B.  So, if you’re in or around central VT and have any interest in helping to put up a nice post and beam shed (all cut, drilled and ready to put together, like a big Ikea chest) leave a message in the comments.  It’s looking like the first or second week of September right now.

Hope everyone has a great weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So much has been happening… Corn Husk Fever

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer King  |  08/10/2010 at 10:31 pm

    Susie and Anna look great! I’m glad things are going well and the girls are minding their fences. I read about your ordeal somewhere, Rav…I think. Oh brother, you must have gone crazy looking for them. Silly sheep 🙂 Good luck with your shed, wish I was closer. Don’t forget our standing offer to stay next time you’re in CT!!! Jen

    Reply
  • 2. countryelvis4  |  08/11/2010 at 4:26 pm

    Thanks Jen! I’m still planning to come to CT to check out some Finn Sheep, but it’s looking more like September at this point. I’ll keep you posted, would love to see you!

    Reply
  • 3. riniray  |  08/24/2010 at 10:54 am

    Hey I just posted about Jiminy Peak

    Reply
    • 4. riniray  |  08/24/2010 at 10:55 am

      I just noticed that our blog background is the same! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Susan  |  08/24/2010 at 11:07 pm

    Oh how I wish I could help you! I love putting things together (although I usually have to do them a couple of times cause I suck at reading instructions) 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. gale (she shoots sheep shots)  |  09/02/2010 at 3:06 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Had I only known you were close to Fat Toad I SO would have loved to stop by & visit. You’re right, that would have totally made my day- fiber goats & cheese goats on the same field trip. 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. countryelvis4  |  09/02/2010 at 3:11 pm

      I follow your blog pretty religiously actually 🙂 It would have been great to meet you, maybe next time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

