Quick Update…

05/21/2010 at 1:43 pm 1 comment

There’s alot of hurry up and wait going on around here these days. 

 A llama has found it’s way to me, almost.  He was all set to come, but needed his shearing first, and of course, it rained and snowed during the 2 days set aside to do that.  Now I have to wait, since we have a big party coming up at the end of the month, and it doesn’t seem prudent to try to bond the goats and llama with all kinds of extra craziness going on.  I’ve been wanting to get some pics of the new guy, but it just hasn’t worked out.  He’s about a mile up the road from me currently, hanging with my neighbors other llamas and sheep, biding his time.  I’m looking forward to learning a few new lessons.

The shed has finally made it up to our house.  The volunteer builders will all be on hand at aforementioned party at the end of the month, so the shed will get built, and hopefully hauled out to the new pasture just in time for the new llama.  I also was gifted a 16′ metal hay wagon roof, which will become another shelter for the southern pasture.  This gives me a shelter in each pasture section, which is phenomenal.  I still have to get all my perimeter fencing up, but for the time being, moving the electronet fencing around has been working just great.  So, shelter issues will be well covered. ( ugh, forgive the bad pun)

So, all of this progress, and the abundance of green grass in my pastures, and my love all things fiber, emboldened me to adopt a couple of Shetland ewes.  I’ll be bringing them home the first week of June.  I just couldn’t resist, they need a home, and I’m feeling adventurous 🙂   Plus, the nices fleece I’ve processed and spun to date was a Finn/Shetland cross, so I figure it couldn’t hurt to have the option to breed them.  There are still a couple of Shetland whethers available if anyone is interested, just let me know and I’ll pass on the contact info.

I still plan to get a couple of Finns (Finnish Landrace) sheep a little later in the season.  The farm in CT where I’m going to get them is still in the midst of lambing, so once that’s all done and they’ve decided who’s up for sale I’ll go pick out a couple.   I think that will do it for me this year, though I wish I had a nickel for every alpaca offer I’ve had over the last couple of months 🙂

Pics and more updates soon.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ah, Spring… Introducing Vigo….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca  |  05/30/2010 at 9:17 am

    Wow! You are going to have an honest-to-goodness big flock of fleecy animals! I am so excited! I can’t wait to meet all of your new friends once they arrive–post plenty of pictures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

