Gearing up for the big day.

04/22/2010 at 10:45 am 5 comments

The gang's all here.

We’re getting ready for shearing tomorrow afternoon, so I took a little time last night to get some photos of all that fleece.  Look how long it is!

Varitek, looking good.

I didn’t get to have my shearing lesson last week, as planned, due to circumstances outside of everyone’s control (well, except for the blade sharpener, who is apparently wildly busy right now), so John is going to come down tomorrow and shear for me.  I’ll still get my lesson on his sheep, but it won’t be for a week or two.

Tallulah on the rock

I’m so excited to get my first fleeces from my little herd, their fleece is very long, and very soft, though also very dirty.   I think they’ll be happy to get rid of it right now.  Tallulah especially can hardly see, and she doesn’t like the idea of me trimming around her eyes, so I haven’t done it for fear of taking her eye out.

Sweet Seymour

We’re expecting some company for the big event.  Old friends and new are arriving from near and far, starting this evening, to share in this first shearing experience.  I’m glad they’ll be around as I’m sure I’ll be a nervous nelly.

That's Nola in front with the spindly legs, Tallulah behind.

It’s hard to believe that it’s been a full 6 months since I’ve been caring for these critters.  I’ve learned so much from them and about them, and I know that I have much more to learn, but what a great ride it’s been so far. 

I’ll post some pics of the shearing, the fleeces and the nekkid goats next week.  Wish me luck! 

 
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Good News! Shearing Happens….thanks John!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly Parrish  |  04/22/2010 at 11:59 am

    Oh, they are gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for the great pictures! Have fun!
    Molly

    Reply
  • 2. tom at vivian acres  |  04/22/2010 at 12:06 pm

    Great Pictures! they are going to look so tiny without all that fleece. We did ours last Friday and once again I was surprised at how small the goats really are. good luck on the shearing.

    Reply
  • 3. Rebecca  |  04/23/2010 at 7:56 am

    How exciting! I can’t wait to see how the goats look after shearing, and how their fleeces turn out!

    Reply
  • 4. Kathy  |  04/24/2010 at 10:47 am

    I’m sure all will go well! I can’t wait to see your nekkid goats next week.

    Reply
  • 5. Sara  |  04/24/2010 at 9:10 pm

    They look so cute…just want to cuddle them….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

