Seymour has new family

03/16/2010 at 2:45 pm 3 comments

Seymour - 6:45 a.m.

As a newbie in the goat raising world, I opted not to breed my does this year.  I thought it prudent to spend some time getting to know my goats, both as individuals and as a breed, to learn what was normal behavior before I got into what is normal pregnant goat behavior.  

I’m still certain that it was the right choice, however, I’m green eyed with envy over all my fellow yarn farmers on ravelry having lambs and kids all over the place.  There is surely nothing cuter in the world than baby goats.

Juniper Moon Farm had it’s first set of twin kids on Sunday, born to Seymour’s mama, Hannah.  They are Gonzo, a buckling and Camilla, a doeling.  All the kids born this year on their  farm will be named after Muppets, which I love.  I’m hoping for an Oscar and a Cookie Monster (which is very apropo for goats by the way).  Have a little look at her blog post for pics of the cutie pies, they have a lamb cam set up in the barn too, so you can watch the babies and the mamas to be 🙂  

Click on the Juniper Moon Farm tag on the left there, I can’t seem to get the link to show up here, cuz I’m technologically challenged.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Snow at last! Hard lessons learned.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathy  |  03/17/2010 at 1:32 pm

    oh my. The cuteness! They are so adorable.

    Reply
  • 2. Becca  |  03/18/2010 at 12:48 pm

    Goodness gracious! Seymour is beginning to look a bit like Bob Marley. When are the lovely goats getting sheared?

    Reply
    • 3. countryelvis4  |  03/18/2010 at 1:29 pm

      They are indeed very long haired these days, quite a change from when they came home 🙂

      I’m planning to shear them at the end of April or early May.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

