Mid Winter Blahs

02/11/2010 at 1:20 pm 12 comments

Well, it’s February in VT.  We haven’t had much snow lately, so I’ve been taking the goats out for a constitutional walk every weekend.   Enough snow has melted that they will stay out for a bit, as long as I give them something to chew on, hay or old Christmas trees or whatever.  They still seem to prefer being inside though.

Tallulah, looking fine

Not much is really happening goatwise right now…just keeping up with hoof trimming, and keeping an eye out for lice.   The kids are growing a nice fleece and right now it’s about 4 inches of growth, but they are looking prettydirty and dingy, like they could use a nice bath.  But, being so cold I’m obviously not going to do that.  So, I just try to pluck out the hay and loose stuff that gets stuck in their coats as best I can.

Remember how nekkid they were? Tallulalah then.

In other news, I attended a really great workshop this weekend.  It was offered by the VT Sheep and Goat Association, and it was all about using homeopathy with your animals.  Previously I had a little information that I didn’t quite understand, but this workshop really helped me figure out how to use homeopathy, when to use it, what to expect, and how to administer it to the goats.   I’ve already started using a “constitutional” for the wee goats, in an attempt to help them put on weight, and keep the parasites at bay.   They seem to be benefitting from it.  

My biggest accomplishment of late has to be my successful completion of my first pair of handspun socks.  I spun some Falklands wool, dyed by my favorite indie dyer in Australia, Southern Cross Fibre, in a colorway called Funhouse.  They are also my first pair of socks knit from the toe up, instead of cuff down (my standard technique).   I’m inordinately proud of them, and they have become my favorite socks with just one wearing. 

Ta Da! Funhouse Socks Rock!

If you’ve never worn hand knit socks, you are seriously missing out.  These are my most comfy cozy socks to date, I love them!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

3 Months later… Happy Monday!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tomdockery  |  02/11/2010 at 4:20 pm

    Great socks! that is one thing I need to learn to do is knit. I can crochet but not knit.
    Are you feeding your goats inside the barn? What kind of feeder are you using?
    Mine get covered in hay and makes it difficult at processing time.
    thanks

    Reply
  • 2. countryelvis4  |  02/11/2010 at 4:50 pm

    Thanks Tom! Kniting is easy, I can’t crochet to save my life. Maybe we should get together and teach each other 🙂
    I am feeding inside the barn, I’m currently just using old milk crates to hold the hay. I haven’t been able to get the old hay rack off my other barn (landslide last summer has made access very tricky, plus it’s all icy now). Mine are definitely very dirty, and I pick hay etc. out of their fleece almost daily… this spring will be my first shearing so I may find that I have to rethink this feeding thing next winter.

    Reply
  • 3. Muppetfeet  |  02/11/2010 at 4:53 pm

    Those are some seriously fun socks! What a great color, and they look really comfy!

    I thought I remembered reading somewhere about grooming goats, kind of the same way you would groom a horse. I know that grooming horses keeps the dingy/gritty away until it’s warm enough for baths again, maybe it would work for the goatlings…

    Reply
  • 4. Martha Ann  |  02/11/2010 at 9:18 pm

    They’re fabulous. I’m so envious. Years ago a friend hand-knit me a pair of socks and I wore them until the heels were bare, then mended them and wore them out again.

    Alas, I am knitting impaired. I mean really knitting impaired. I once tried to knit a scarf and it turned into a poncho that became the cat’s favorite bed.

    I’m going to link to this post on All Things Goat.Com.

    Martha Ann

    Reply
  • 5. Gilead Goats | All Things Goat  |  02/11/2010 at 9:27 pm

    […] out the hand-knitted socks at Gilead Goats and the yummy hand-dyed yarns. They’re a lovely pick-me-up from the mid-winter […]

    Reply
  • 6. Kathy  |  02/15/2010 at 2:43 pm

    There is nothing like a pair of handknit socks. They are far superior to store bought. Mine all wore out at once last year, so I am mostly wearing the store bought kind. I never could enjoy doing toe up socks. A lot of people do like doing them that way, so I think it was just the process of learning something new that made me not enjoy it.

    Reply
  • 7. Ann  |  02/16/2010 at 1:41 pm

    Super socks!! I understand what you mean about the comfort…to say nothing of the pride.

    Reply
  • 8. Jennifer  |  02/19/2010 at 10:12 am

    Thanks for your comment about the 50/50 cashmere/silk I dyed for my spinning club :-D. Just wanted to let you know that this isn’t a fiber I sell ~ Morgaine at Carolina Homespun is the exclusive retailer for this particular blend. She should have quite a bit right now, as I sent her an order not too long ago. If you email or call her she can probably help you, if you’d really like to get some (Fire is pretty close to the Sugar Maple colorway, and Earth is pretty close to Shaman … she has alot of different colors, though).

    http://carolinahomespun.com/miva/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=CH&Category_Code=Spirit+Trail

    Happy Spinning!

    PS LOVE your socks! 😀

    Reply
  • 9. Jennifer  |  02/19/2010 at 10:15 am

    I just realized Morgaine has some of the colors on her site … if you click on “add one to basket” on the page I linked to above, a bunch of color options will come up.

    Reply
  • 10. Adelaide  |  02/19/2010 at 9:01 pm

    The socks are beautiful. Love the colors. I’m also very impressed by the fleece the little goaties are growing. Spring is only four weeks away (more or less). Bath time will be here before you know it.

    Reply
  • 11. Laila Jonsson  |  02/23/2010 at 4:34 pm

    The sock turned out reallllllly nice! But tell me, did you enjoy the toe up technique?

    Reply
    • 12. countryelvis4  |  02/23/2010 at 5:07 pm

      I enjoyed it, but probably because I love the yarn, and I wanted to use it all up. The technique was a little fiddly for me, but I’ll use it again before I decide.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

