3 Months later…

01/21/2010 at 2:57 pm 7 comments

The goats are healthy, their fiber is growing and everyone is getting along just fine!  It’s been a full 3 months now since I brought the goats home.  I’ve learned so much in that time, from how to care for them, to how to motivate them, but most especially I’ve learned to be grateful and thankful every day.

Nola, looking for love....

There truly are no sweeter creatures around.  This little flock has such great personality and heart, it is truly mind boggling.  They are friendly, inquisitive, and playful.  

Varitek always greets me at the gate like this

While our winter has been pretty uneventful, we’ve been getting to know each other better, and I have some plans for things to differently in the barn next winter.   Like, change which way the gate opens for starters.  I thought I was being so smart, making it so that it opens in to the stall instead of out.  My thought was that the goats couldn’t push it open by jumping on it etc, if it opened in, which is true and makes sense.  What I hadn’t thought of was that the hay/straw bedding piles up in the stall, and they like to sleep by the gate, so it gets compacted right up to the gate, and then it’s not so easy to open the gate.  Now I understand why it is recommended to have a gate that can open either way 🙂  and I will change that come spring. 

So, while I don’t have alot to report on the goats, they are all doing great.  You can see in the photos how much fluffier they are these days.   We’ve been having a pretty warm spell lately too, so I’m not as nervous about them in the cold as I had been.  Overall, I’m feeling much more like an actual shepherd/goatherd than I thought I would at this point.   And spring, getting the shed up and out in the pasture, and watching the goats run and play out there is what I’m getting excited about.  And of course, I’m really looking forward to shearing time.  I’m trying to decide if I have it in me to learn to shear them myself.   A neighbor who has been shearing sheep, llamas and goats for years has offered to teach me how, by working side by side with him when he shears the rest of his sheep come April.  I guess I’ll try my hand at that and see how it goes, then decide.  I’ll keep y’all posted 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I tried… Mid Winter Blahs

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zach  |  01/21/2010 at 5:52 pm

    Do Varitek and Nola have blue eyes?? It kind of looks that way when I view the pictures enlarged. I am so glad you and your herd are thriving!

    Reply
    • 2. countryelvis4  |  01/22/2010 at 9:06 am

      Their eyes are actually a hazel like color (I’m told mine are the same color lol). I think they look a little blue due to the flash, and the lighting in the barn. Those shots were taken at night, just before “bedtime”.

      Reply
  • 3. Krysta  |  01/22/2010 at 9:24 am

    I say go for it! There was an immensely entertaining man, demonstrating sheep shearing at the Big E this year. It was fascinating.

    Reply
  • 4. Adrianne  |  02/02/2010 at 3:16 pm

    Shearing! Yowza, what fun. Everybody looks wonderful, snug in their barn, dreaming of spring. Can’t wait to pet their fuzzy selves.

    Reply
  • 5. riniray  |  02/08/2010 at 7:59 pm

    How do you remember all of the goats names? And by the way, I put up some posts. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Kathy  |  02/15/2010 at 3:01 pm

    I have a girlfriend who shears, and I absolutely encourage you to learn. She learned on her family’s sheep operation when she was growing up. It is a great skill to have if you have fiber animals.

    Are your goats approximately as big as they are going to get? I have mini-manchas that are about the same size as your goats.

    Reply
    • 7. countryelvis4  |  02/15/2010 at 3:29 pm

      I expect them to get a bit bigger. Angoras typically reach full maturation at 2-3 years. My does are about 16 months old and my kids are about 10 months old. They should be about 100-125 pounds when full grown.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

