It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

12/14/2009 at 3:49 pm 2 comments

Snow, snow and more snow is here at last! 

View of a lonely duck in the snow, from my sister's Christmas party

 While I was at my sister and Mom’s Christmas party yesterday, I couldn’t help but feel sorry for the poor lonely duck sitting on top of her bbq on the deck.  His friends have gone missing and he’s all alone, braving the blowing snow.  I hope they’ll get him some companions soon, or at least move him out to the chicken coop.

Another highlight of their party was my Mom’s concoction….cranberry infused vodka, with whole cranberries and lime…

Mom's crantini

Delicious and festive!  I only got to drink about a third of one of these, I had to drive home in the snow, boo hiss! 

On the home front, the goats are doing well, but they aren’t big fans of the snow.  Every time I try to lead them out to pasture and spend some time outdoors, they get about halfway across the yard, kicking their feet around trying to figure out what this white stuff is that is getting between their toes (hoofs), then they turn right around and head back for the barn.  No amount of shaking of the grain bucket, and luring them on, can turn them back around.  They always start out excited about the prospect, they come barrelling out of the barn at top speed, (I’m sure they’re a lot bored hanging out in the barn all the time) but stop pretty much dead in their tracks about 20 paces from the barn.  It’s kind of funny to watch, they make a lot of bleating, grunting noises as they try to turn themselves around and get back inside.  I don’t fight them on this, if they want to stay in the barn where it’s warmer and dryer, I let them.  I just wonder if they are suffering from some Vitamin D deficiency or something.  I’m going to start giving them some herbal tonic made my Dynamite as a supplement, just in case.  Sorry no goat pics today…it’s awfully dark in the barn, and I haven’t had any extra hands around for our forays into the snow, just know that they continue to be cute as all get out, they are growing nice new coats, and everyone is healthy.   I’ll try to get some new photos soon.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Busy Holiday weekend… Merry Christmas everyone!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. riniray  |  12/21/2009 at 3:47 pm

    I read your paragraph about your goats. I wonder why they do not like the snow???

    Reply
  • 2. riniray  |  01/17/2010 at 1:51 pm

    Pedey looks cute

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

