Busy Holiday weekend…

12/02/2009 at 1:17 pm 6 comments

Sorry for the delay in posting…I had a lot going on over the holiday weekend, which is also my anniversary weekend.  Yay!   It was fun, and we ate a lot! 

We also had a nice visit from Flanagan, a 6 year old, German Shepherd mix, who is being fostered by a friend of our neighbor’s.  We are considering adopting him, so he spent the day with us on Saturday, playing with Youkilis, hiking in the woods, and just hanging out.  He’s such a sweet, chill dog, I really hope we can adopt him.   Youkilis loved having him around, and I can tell that he really misses having a playmate on call, though it may be a bit of an adjustment for Flanagan 🙂

Brad and Flanagan

 

Youk loves him!

 

Also, big thanks are due to my friend Laura, who came down to help me trim hooves on Sunday morning.  It was a beautiful day, sunny and warm (again, it’s so weird) so I had the goats out on pasture, and we decided we’d just do it in the pasture so they could continue to enjoy the sunshine. 

Seymour

All was going well, we were able to lure them with grain, catch them, turn them onto their rumps, and trim away.  Now, this was my first experience with trimming the hooves, and I was very nervous about cutting too much and having blood everywhere, so I was very slow and careful about it.  They really needed the trimming, their hooves were long and starting to curl under, with lots of dirt stuck in there.   After the first couple were done I started to feel more confident, and was getting a bit quicker with it, and the kids certainly appreciated that. 

But, then it was Tallulah’s turn, and, big surprise, she was not cooperative at all.  She managed to escape out of  the fencing, and we spent a good half an hour trying to get her back in.  When she was finally ready to go back inside the fence, we were not ready with the gate and she ran right into the electric fence, snagging her horns and getting caught!  I ran to unplug the fencer so she would stop getting zapped as quick as I could.  By the time I got back to her, her horns and feet were all tangled up in the fence.  We managed to free her pretty quickly and she was fine, if a little spooked.  And you can just imagine how much trouble she gave us when it was her turn for the hoof trimming…another half hour of running around in circles trying to catch her.  We did finally manage to and got her hooves trimmed right up, quickly too.   Now everyone has happy feet, and I have overcome another bit of goatherd fear. 

The weather is finally starting to get cold, we had a dusting of snow the other night for the first time in over a month.  I’m just beginning to worry about the water freezing up on the goats at night.  I’ve been shopping for heated water buckets for a while, but they are expensive, and I’m broke so I haven’t purchased them yet.  Maybe someone out there can help me figure out this mystery…the day before Thanksgiving a big box arrived at my house from horses.com.  In it, were 2 not 1 but 2 5 gallon heated buckets!   There was no invoice or packing slip in the box, just a catalog, so I was trying to figure out where it came from since I know I hadn’t ordered them.  My first thought was my sister or mom, so I called them, and nope, not them.  Then Brad suggested my friend Eileen, but again, called her and nope, she wished she had thought of it, but it wasn’t her either.  I proceeded to ask everyone that I spoke to all weekend, and no one has taken credit for this fine and generous gift.  It’s especially bizarre, because I had just been shopping around online for heated buckets, since I looked at them at my local hardware store and they were $56 each, and only 3 gallon!  So, I’m dying to know who read my mind, and was generous enough to get 2 of these beauties sent off to me.   If you know anything about this, please let me know!  In the meantime, a big thank you from me and the goats to whoever you are!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adelaide  |  12/04/2009 at 9:12 pm

    Trimming hooves for the first time has got to be scary. Good for you!

    Reply
  • 2. Megan  |  12/05/2009 at 12:24 pm

    I’ve seen the hoof cutting over JMFF and it sure looks scary! I guess it’s like anything – the more practice you have, the easier it gets – but I’d be afraid to even try!
    Enjoy your buckets! I hope you find out who sent them!

    Reply
  • 3. Becky from South Bend  |  12/05/2009 at 3:36 pm

    Have you asked Susie if she might be involved in the bucket mystery?

    Reply
  • 4. Jennifer King  |  12/07/2009 at 6:57 pm

    Oh……this is just the type of mystery that would drive me crazy!!! Awesome gift though 🙂 Jen

    Reply
  • 5. tomdockery  |  12/08/2009 at 7:13 pm

    Trimming hooves is a real adventure and you are right practice makes perfect……well not always perfect. I still sometimes cut too short and boy do they bleed. The first time i cut Pink’s shortly after getting her I really did a number on her since they were in bad shape. I panicked and called the Vet cause i thought she was going to bleed to death. But it was just me panicking and the vet told me to put some stop blood powder on it (this didn’t really help) and wait since she would stop bleeding. She soon did and after limping some (which broke my heart) she was doing better in a couple of days. Sometimes after trimming, especially if they really needed it they will limp slightly for a day or so and then they are fine. Goats are tough.

    What I do on hoof trimming day or deworming day or whatever, I lure them in the barn with treats (I use hay stretchers) in a scoop. They all come running and go in the barn. Then I let them out one at a time to do what I have too. Those little guys are fast, and I could never catch them….I’ve tried.
    Good news about the heated water buckets. Seems God watches over goat farmers as things sometimes fall into my lap too when i most need it. The water tank and hog nipples was what I came up with.

    Good blog, I enjoyed reading it.

    Reply
  • 6. riniray  |  12/22/2009 at 6:32 pm

    I wonder who sent you the buckets?????
    But that is a wonderful invention, heated water buckets for the winter!! Whoever invented that must by a genus. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

