One month mark…

11/19/2009 at 11:07 am 2 comments

Well, the goats have been home for a full month now.  I’m pleased with the progress that we’ve made.  I’ve managed to keep the goats alive, healthy and happy so far.   There’s still alot to learn, but I’m feeling more and more confident every day. 

We have been spoiled this year with our weather in November, rather than grey and cold and dreary, we’ve had lovely sunny, warm days and cool nights.  This has been great for the goats while they are growing their hair back.   But, this morning there was a layer of ice on the water buckets, so I think our mild weather will soon be ending.  I’m investigating heated water buckets this weekend 🙂  Also trying to work out the shed building schedule, hopefully we can get that done before the snow flies.

Last weekend I lent a hand to my neighbor in shearing his 7 Icelandic sheep.  Basically, I just caught them, and picked up the fleeces while he sheared.  Shearing is so fascinating.  Turns out he shears for quite a lot of people, sheep, llamas, and goats.  He has kindly offered to teach me in the spring.   We don’t have a local shearer, and it gets expensive to have someone travel for just a few sheep or goats, so it makes sense for me to learn to do it myself.  I’m very lucky to have John just up the road, an experienced shepherd who enjoys sharing his knowledge is just  invaluable.

Here’s a nice shot of his 2 Icelandic rams, a little sheepy ying yan for you.

John's Icelandic Rams

 

Freshly shorn ewe

Of course, I couldn’t resist taking a fleece home 🙂

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Update on the shed… How goofy can I look?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adrianne  |  11/19/2009 at 9:56 pm

    You took a fleece home? I can’t believe it. (Only one?)

    So glad the goat gang is doing well and the weather hasn’t been too harsh. Totally missing not getting to watch them grow up every minute, but looking forward to visiting soon so I can take in your awesome goatherdness in person! You rock.

    Reply
  • 2. Adelaide  |  11/20/2009 at 3:08 pm

    The Icelandic sheep are beautiful. Very happy your little goats are doing well and that you are enjoying them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

