Update on the shed…

11/11/2009 at 3:00 pm 7 comments

Sand Creek Post and Beam has generously supplied a custom built run in shed for the wee goatlings.  It arrived about a week and a half ago.  

 

DSCN2027

Shed in waiting

But, the arrival was not quite as smooth as I had hoped.  They called to tell me that it would be arriving on a Friday afternoon, which was perfect since Brad is home on Fridays.  When they tried to get to the house, the truck was too big for the windy dirt road.  So, they called me at work to see what they should do.  It was decided that they would transfer the shed to a smaller truck and redeliver on Monday afternoon, when we would unload the 2 ton package by hand.  When I spoke to my boss to explain that I would need to leave work early to go and help unload this shed he looked a little shocked.  “Unload a 2 ton parcel by hand?  Are you crazy?” was what he actually said.  “Why don’t you just have them deliver here to the shop, where we can unload it with a backhoe, then we can transfer it to our hydraulic flatbed (which we use to pickup and deliver tractors) and bring it up to your house that way.  We can unload it whereever you like, and no one has to break their back”.  This made complete and total sense (and I may have hugged him for thinking it) so I called the freight company back and they were happy to bring it up to the shop instead.  So, here it sits, while I organize the building of the skids which will be it’s base, so that we can move it around the pastures that have no access to the barn.  My very helpful neighbor has provided me with 12′ 6×6 hemlock beams for the base of the skids.  I’m organizing my carpenter friends and attempting to find a weekend to put it up before the snow flies.  If that doesn’t get arranged before the snow flies, than I will store the shed at work until spring, where it can be under cover and safe from the elements.

I’m hopeful that we can get it constructed before Thanksgiving, fingers and toes crossed.  I know it doesnt’ look like much right now…

DSCN2026

Big pile of lumber or shed?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I may have spoken too soon… One month mark…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diane@Peaceful Acres  |  11/11/2009 at 3:27 pm

    WOW WOW WOW!!! How exciting! What a kind boss! I am so happy for you…can you tell. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. countryelvis4  |  11/11/2009 at 6:04 pm

    I do have the world’s best boss! He really helped make the whole transition of the goats to VT possible, literally. Provided the vehicle, saved and then delivered the hay, and now the shed. I must do something really great for him for Christmas this year 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Adelaide  |  11/12/2009 at 9:02 am

    What a nice man you have for a boss. And because he’s so nice, I bet you work very, very hard for him. I suspect he might love the little goaties, too.

    Reply
  • 4. GrandmaSue aka Olliepup  |  11/12/2009 at 4:03 pm

    You have the best boss in the world. Yes get him something really good for Christmas this year. So glad everything is moving along. Thank you for the pictures of the little guys.

    Reply
  • 5. Jennifer King  |  11/14/2009 at 9:16 pm

    So glad things are moving along. Looking forward to seeing the shed finished. I only wish I was closer, I’d help 🙂 All the best, Jen

    Reply
  • 6. tomdockery  |  11/16/2009 at 10:40 pm

    I read in the paper about you beginning your herd. I began mine last may and have kindof been accumulating them since. Angoras are great. I have 11 now and they are so sweet. I am in Colchester at Vivian Acres a small but happy herd.

    Glad to see another Anogora herd blogging.

    Tom

    Reply
    • 7. countryelvis4  |  11/17/2009 at 9:09 am

      Where is your blog? I’d love to check in with you from time to time 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

