November greyness setting in.

11/06/2009 at 12:36 pm 6 comments

DSCN2016

Sweet Seymour

The weather lately has been pretty sketchy, cold, grey, threatening clouds, some rain, forecasts of snow…the November greyness is setting in.  November and February are the months when it really gets to me, the cold, the dark drive to and from work, and the grey days in between. 

This kind of weather hasn’t been good for getting the kids out during the day, especially when I’m at work and can’t run them inside if the day turns stormy, which it definitely does.  So, they’ve been staying in a lot this week.  I’m in search of ideas for good barn toys for them as they seem a little bored, so if you know of something, please leave me a comment.

I’ve been taking advantage of this time to do another round of delousing and deworming, followed by extra probiotics.  I’ve changed up their grain as well, on the vet’s recommendation, since their fecal sample showed that they had coccidiasis, so now they are getting medicated grain.  You’d never know that they were suffering from parasites from their behavior though, they seem to be quite pleased with themselves.  They are growing a nice crop of new fiber too, amazing how fast it grows, you can practically watch it grow if you spend a little time with them.

DSCN2025

Pedey in his grain bucket

Can you see how curly his coat is now, no longer the nekkid baby 🙂

I’m starting to feel like a real goat herd, shooting the meds down their throats like an old hand now, (a huge improvement over the first round, now that I’ve figured out the right way to do it, I’m amazed I got any into them at all), and parading them around the property.   And yes, you can sometimes catch me yodeling to them…life is good!

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Week 2 completed… I may have spoken too soon…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zach  |  11/06/2009 at 10:08 pm

    I think I am falling in love with your goats!

    Reply
  • 2. Louise Heenan  |  11/06/2009 at 10:28 pm

    Play idea: Create a goat door, rather like a dog door so that they can go out to play, or come in if they need, all while you are at work?

    Reply
  • 3. Leah  |  11/07/2009 at 6:06 pm

    They are really becoming lovely animals. The hair growth is spectacular. I’m so glad that some will be coming to me!!! Can’t wait to meet the herd.

    Leah

    Reply
  • 4. Heather Shelton  |  11/08/2009 at 2:21 pm

    I can see the new fiber growing!! I love seeing the updates. One of these days I will get over your way- hopefully before the snow falls. I will be at the WRJ fiber fair on Sat so I will see you there!

    Reply
  • 5. ShaylaMyst  |  11/10/2009 at 1:32 pm

    For toys – Upside down bins or sturdy chairs (they might like to play “king of the hill”).

    I’m so tickled that you are sharing all of this with us.

    Reply
  • 6. Adelaide  |  11/10/2009 at 7:05 pm

    I just love your goat photos. They make me smile every time I see one. You really seem able to capture their personalities.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

