Week 2 completed…

11/02/2009 at 1:28 pm 5 comments

The goats have officially been here for 2 weeks now.  Funny, but it almost seems longer, I feel like we’ve experienced so much already.   Between the shearing, traveling, meeting the dogs, meeting the neighbors, having a visit with the vet, deworming, delousing, learning how to get from barn to pasture etc.  we are all so much more comfortable and happy.  

DSCN1989

They now not only eat out of my hand, but will come when called and follow me out to and back in from pasture.  They have learned to respect the fence (once I fixed the short in it, d’oh!) and today they are out unattended for the first time.  (Don’t worry, I do have a couple of neighbors going by to check on them periodically, I’m no fool).  It was such a beautiful morning, with that extra hour the sun was out, frost sparkling on everything, and the forecast was for a lovely sunny 50 degree day, and I just didn’t have the heart to make them stay inside all day.  So far, so good, all reports are of happily munching goats.  And by now they’ve learned that their stall in the barn is a safe, warm place full of yummy hay, so even if they do venture out of the fence, I think they’d just go back up to the barn, I left the doors and gates open just in case. 

DSCN1972

 

 

DSCN1966

They are starting to get some new hair growth, and are looking a little scruffy, but oh so soft…just in time, since the weather is starting to get colder.  You can practically watch their hair grow, I notice a difference between morning and evening, truly amazing.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Who’s who at Gilead Goats November greyness setting in.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Astrig  |  11/03/2009 at 9:17 am

    Your goats are marvelous…congratulations! I have two angoras and a cashmere in my little world and they make me laugh and smile every day…enjoy!

    Reply
  • 2. Sara  |  11/03/2009 at 7:13 pm

    Oh, this was just a marriage made in heaven – the goats and you! I love how very happy you sound!!! And, they look happy in their wonderful new home…

    Are you going to WRJ for the week-end thing at Lois’ shop????

    Reply
    • 3. countryelvis4  |  11/04/2009 at 9:30 am

      Thanks Sara…so sweet that you’re following the blog 🙂
      I’ll be at Lois’s shop all day on that Saturday, so she can do her hostess with the mostess thang. Hope to see you then.

      Reply
  • 4. harmless  |  11/04/2009 at 12:31 pm

    Yay, happy goats! That first pic is fantastic.

    Reply
  • 5. Mary Cooper  |  11/04/2009 at 4:22 pm

    I think they are smiling – they look very happy in their new home! I’m jealous that I can’t have sheep and goats here in the suburbs in Minnesota!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

