Who’s who at Gilead Goats

10/30/2009 at 10:58 am 7 comments

It has come to my attention that people would like a little identification of the goats.  So, I attempted to get some pics of them separately so that I can identify them, by number, my name and their former names (sorry Aunties, I just had to rename them, but only cuz I love ’em so)

So, we’ll start with the does, and of course, Tallulah is the boss of all goats and the escape artist of the group.  She was number 52, Susie couldn’t remember her name, born 2008.

Tallulah - #52

Tallulah - #52

Then there’s Nola, #56, formerly known as Juniper, born 2008.  She’s got a little crush on my dog, Youkilis…and she has the cutest freckles on her nose.

DSCN1955

Nola - #56

 On to the boys, who are now wethers, we start out with Varitek, or Tek, he’s number 79, formerly known as Leviathan.  He’s the most outgoing and curious guy, and almost twice as big as the other 2 boys.

DSCN1939

Varitek - #79

Then there’s Seymour, who is the sweetest goat ever, he likes to have his chin rubbed.  He was #83, formerly known as Jester.

DSCN1942

Seymour - #83

And last but not least, is Pedey (after Dustin Pedroia, the littlest Red Sox player), who is #91, formerly known as Kaufman.  He has really learned to hold his own with the big girls at feeding time, he’s a good little goat.

DSCN1945

Pedey = #91

We had a good visit from the vet yesterday.  He thought they were looking good and healthy, though he thought that Pedey and Seymour were a little thin.  I’ve been feeding them separately from the rest with the hopes that they’ll bulk up a little before the weather turns really cold.   He also gave them some vaccinations, and took a stool sample to test for worms and parasites, just to be on the safe side.  And he thought I had great hay, so we’re in good shape going in to winter.

The boys were very good for their date with destiny, I think it was harder on me then on them.  This morning they were all bright eyed and energetic, though they were a little demure last night.   I wish it would stop raining so they could get outside on some browse for a while, they could use it.  It’s still warm, but rainy, and they haven’t got a lot of new growth in their coats yet, so they only go out when it’s nice and sunny and dry.   Hoping to have some nice days this weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

We’re Front Page News! Week 2 completed…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  10/30/2009 at 1:56 pm

    Thank you for the proper introductions to the babies. I think they are so cute!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Rebecca  |  10/30/2009 at 4:50 pm

    Thank you for that very handy goat guide. I am very glad that you gave some of them good Red Sox names; now I am 100% positive that these goats are being raised by somebody with the right values! They are adorable and velvety. And I’m sure that the boys will plump up in no time with your loving care.

    Reply
  • 3. Heather  |  10/30/2009 at 8:01 pm

    I love their new names. Doesn’t Tallulah have such a great expression in that picture – I see why she’s the boss:)

    Reply
  • 4. Sue  |  10/31/2009 at 7:39 am

    What is it that makes your hay great? Do you grow your own? We’re planning on getting goats, and some breeders we talked to said it was important to have the proper hay for them, but would not elaborate on what, exactly, that meant! Nothing I’ve read yet has elaborated on this either. Thanks for any insight you can share with us.

    Reply
    • 5. countryelvis4  |  11/02/2009 at 1:33 pm

      I’m not an expert on hay, by any stretch of the imagination, so I was thrilled to have the vet pronounce my hay excellent. I get it from my boss, who hays the fields that surround the shop and have been in his family for generations. This is from the 2nd cut of the season, which most folks agree is a better quality than first cut. That’s about all I know, at the moment.

      Reply
  • 6. muffinista  |  10/31/2009 at 12:27 pm

    i specifically remember seymour/jester from my week on susie’s farm. he really is the sweetest goat ever.

    Reply
  • 7. Zach  |  11/06/2009 at 10:07 pm

    Well now I just have to meet each one of them in person and introduce myself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

