A Sunny Fall Day

10/26/2009 at 11:13 am 4 comments

We finally had some warmth and sun yesterday after torrential rains all day on Saturday.  So, I set up some electric net fencing and brought the herd outside for the afternoon.  For starters, I kept them up in the side yard of the house, where there’s good browseing for them, and I could keep an eye on them.  They really perked up getting out in the sunshine, tails wagging, munching happily at all the good green stuff out there. 

 DSCN1908

DSCN1910

 DSCN1893

They were so striking out there that they drew lots of visitors in.  All the neighbors came by to say hello and meet the new kids on the block.  Kim Goodling from VT Grandview Farm came all the way out from Washington to meet the gang, check out my setup, and even helped out with bringing them back in.  I feel better having had a real shepherd on site to reassure me that I’m doing things right.  Thanks Kim, and Anna!

 

Of course, the day was not without it’s excitement.  Tallulah has really established herself as the escape artist of the group, she was not out for more than 10 minutes before she somehow managed to escape the fencing.  I had run inside for a minute to grab my camera, and came back out to her standing out in the middle of the yard.  Fortunately, with some grain in a bucket, and my handy crook, I had her back in the fencing in a matter of minutes.  She didn’t stray again.  She didn’t want to be led back to the barn at the end of the day though, choosing instead to follow me and Nola.  Worked for me, she was happy and in charge, and went contentedly back to their home stall in the barn with not much encouragement from me.   Had Kim and Anna not been on hand to reassure me that she would follow and not take off  I would not have been so calm about that, let me tell you.

All in all, it was fantastic to get the goats outside, enjoying the sunshine and browse.  They were happy, I was happy, and we all learned a couple things about living together.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Settling in. We’re Front Page News!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  10/26/2009 at 5:24 pm

    They are so cute…I can’t wait to see them…

    Reply
  • 2. Becca  |  10/26/2009 at 9:01 pm

    Kristin, congratulations on getting your guys all settled! It looks like you’re in for a great adventure!

    Reply
  • 3. Scott  |  10/26/2009 at 10:17 pm

    Glad to see they are settling in ok.

    Reply
  • 4. Rebecca  |  10/29/2009 at 9:15 am

    Your goats are adorable and it seems like they are in very capable hands. This blog will be my second stop every morning (after the Juniper Moon Farm blog, of course), so I can get my daily dose of woolly cuteness. I have enjoyed reading everything you have written so far!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

