Settling in.

10/23/2009 at 9:29 am 8 comments

Just a quick update, the goats are settling in nicely.  I had a little scare with the littlest buck, he had scour and was hanging out in the corner all hunched up, definitely not good.  I was afraid he might be sick.  I checked with the vet, and Kim from VT Grandview Farm (my local goat mentor) and ran home to take his temperature, prepared to run and get antibiotics etc.  But, when I got there, he had perked right up, tail was up and wagging, he came right over when I called him and ate some grain out of my hand.  I did take his temp. just to be sure and it was normal.  I won’t go into the exciting adventure that is taking a goat’s temperature, I’m sure you can imagine 🙂  Just to be safe I gave them some warm water with molasses to give them a little energy boost and they seemed to really like that. 

All of the goats are now eating grain from my hand, which makes me feel good, and that they are coming to trust me.  I weighed them all last night so I have a baseline for future reference.  The vet is coming next week to castrate the bucks and do a general health check. 

We also had a visit from the photographer from the local paper.  Apparently a farmer friend of mine had called them to tell them the story of the goat giveaway.  So, I was interviewed and many photos were taken of me and the goats.  He actually captured Tallulah eating from my hand for the very first time, which was so cool.  She had been really avoiding that, she’d take hay but not grain, so I was thrilled.  Turns out she’s a regular grain vacuum, the others just take little nibbles, she grabs the whole handful at once. 

So, all the goats are doing great.  I’m loving them in a big way.  Even my husband is not immune to their cuteness, he was hanging out in the barn with them when I got home last night 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Goats have come home to the Gilead… A Sunny Fall Day

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather Shelton  |  10/23/2009 at 10:44 am

    Kristen!!! I love your goats! I can’t wait to meet them- I knew you would be great with them right away and you are! I had so much fun with you at Rhinebeck and hope we get to visit soon. By the way…any spinning time with new goats around??? Love, Heather

    Reply
  • 2. Muppetfeet  |  10/23/2009 at 12:36 pm

    Make sure to post a link to the news story if you can!

    I’m happy to read that the goaties are getting settled, and that the little guy isn’t sick. I hope you get to spend some good quality time with them this weekend.

    Reply
  • 3. Sara  |  10/23/2009 at 11:18 pm

    What paper??? I know you are so happy!!!!

    Reply
    • 4. countryelvis4  |  10/27/2009 at 2:44 pm

      The Randolph Herald…if I can, I’ll post a link to it once it’s out.

      Reply
  • 5. Adelaide  |  10/24/2009 at 10:06 am

    Sorry you had a scare with your little guy, but pleased that it turned out to be nothing. Those little goaties have been through a lot in the past couple of weeks, and it’s great that they seem to be settling in. It must be that they can sense they are loved and are home. How nice for them and how nice for you.

    Remember, photos are always welcome.

    Reply
  • 6. Jennifer King  |  10/25/2009 at 9:35 pm

    So glad everything is going well. Looking forward to more pic 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Bob  |  10/28/2009 at 6:50 pm

    I love how you said the goats are really starting to trust you, and in the next sentence you mention the vet coming to castrate the bucks. OUCH!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Rebecca  |  10/29/2009 at 9:13 am

    What are the names of all of the goats? At this point I only know Tallulah, the escape artist of the bunch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

