The Goats have come home to the Gilead…

10/20/2009 at 3:37 pm 16 comments

Finally, the goats are here!   After a crazy, hectic and super fun weekend at the NY Sheep and Wool Festival I went to pick up the goats yesterday morning.   Susie met us at her shearer’s barn, where they had been staying since Wednesday and I finally got to meet my new kids.  They were beautiful and long locked when we arrived, but were shorn before our very eyes before being loaded up in the truck for their long ride to VT (well, they’re still beautiful, if a bit nekkid looking).   I’m sorry to say that I didn’t get good photos of that part, but my dear friend Adrianne was on hand to capture that.  So, those will come a bit later.

So, here’s a little look at the shearing….

Starting shearing

Starting shearing

Shearing Juniper

Shearing

Look at that face.

Look at that face.

After everyone got their hair cuts, and I got a little lesson on hoof trimming, we loaded them up in the truck.

munching hay in the truck, ready to go

munching hay in the truck, ready to go

We hit the road, all the little goats were scrunched up against the cab in the truck.   That worked out great, as they didn’t go sliding around when I braked or took a hard turn, I could keep an eye on them, and they could keep an eye on me.

checking out my driving

checking out my driving

We made the drive in about 4 1/2 hours, without incident.  It was a lovely blue sky day, crisp air, great color in the trees still, all in all, a great day for goat traveling.  We got home and unloaded all the kids into their awaiting stall in the barn.

Me and Kirah with the littlest buck kid.

Handing off the littlest kid to Kirah.Kirah and Leviathan

Of course, there was one little hitch…the doe (#52) who appears to be the leader of the herd, had to jump over my shoulder while I was trying to unload her and jumped right out of the truck!  She ran down the steep bank behind the barn right into the middle of the overgrown wild raspberries.  Very, very thorny area, and very, very steep.  I was glad that I had followed Susie’s advice and gotten myself a crook, so I grabbed it and ran as fast as I could around the barn and down the back hill.  I fought my way thru the brambles and tried to hook her leg, but she took off back up the hill.  Fortunately, Kirah and Kathleen were stationed there watching and waiting and she ran straight into Kirah’s arms (aka the goat whisperer) and was led safely into the barn.

Brambles are yummy!

Brambles are yummy!

Kirah leading the escape artist back to the barn.

Kirah leading the escape artist back to the barn.

Once all the goats got into the barn, they huddled together in the corner for a little while.

We're a little freaked out.

We're a little freaked out.

They were a little freaked out at first in their new home.  But I sat with them and murmured reassurances, offering them hay from my hands, and after a little while, they started to relax.  They munched on hay, and checked out the  new digs.

It's okay my babies.

It's okay my babies.

Where are we now?

Poor little guys had a stressful week, and day.   So, I wasn’t surprised that they took a little time to unwind.  It was all I could do to leave them alone in the barn and go in to help with dinner.  We didn’t finally eat until almost 10 pm!

Getting up an extra half hour early this morning, even in the dark and cold, was much easier knowing that the goats were out there in the barn.   I couldn’t wait to get out there and check on them.

Boys slept on one side, under the trough

The boys slept on one side under the trough,

The girls liked the other side in front of the trough.

And the girls liked the other side in front of the trough.

But they all got through the night in good shape, they are eating and drinking, and getting more comfortable.   I’m arranging for the vet to come and castrate the bucks since I can’t breed them with the does, and have him give them a little overall health check.  I’ll also do the delousing and worming in the next couple of days, once they’ve recovered from the trauma of all the moving and shearing.

While it was cold last night, down around 30, I’m thankful that today has been warmer, around 60, and it should stay warm like this for a few days, which will help them recover I’m sure.  They were definitely more curious about their surroundings this morning, the does decided they liked playing in the trough.

Curious does up in the trough, bucks underneath, goat condo anyone?

Curious does up in the trough, bucks underneath, goat condo anyone?

There will be many more photos to come.  The official documentarian had to go straight home and we’ll await her (much better) pics of the pickup, I think she’s got some of me and Susie and the loading of the truck.

And one last bit of cuteness for you…Jeff has gorgeous merino sheep, and lots of lambs, but this one was born Sunday night, and was less than 24 hours old when we got there.

Mama and baby.

Mama and baby.

Cute overload for sure 🙂

Babies love scritches under the chin.

Babies love scritches under the chin.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ready or not, here they come… Settling in.

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen - Jellenp  |  10/20/2009 at 3:57 pm

    Love LOVE LOVE it! What a great beginning to a new adventure! Congratulations and I can’t wait to follow upcoming chapters in your New Goat Tales!

    Reply
  • 2. Nancy Pope  |  10/20/2009 at 4:00 pm

    What beautiful pictures. The goats have a wonderful new home. Glad to see everyone is getting used to their new digs.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer King  |  10/20/2009 at 5:39 pm

    Awesome Kristen!! This is so cool! Have you slept yet or are you still too excited? All the best, Jen

    Reply
    • 4. countryelvis4  |  10/21/2009 at 8:23 am

      I have managed (barely) to drag myself away and get some sleep…in fact, I’m finally sleeping through the night without waking up at 3 am wondering what’s going to go wrong. I still am amazed every morning when I go out to the barn and they are still there, it’s not a dream 🙂
      And I jump out of bed when the alarm goes off to happily run out and check the water, hay and grain supply. That’s new for me, so yes, I’m still super excited and so proud of my new family.

      Reply
  • 5. Martha Ann  |  10/20/2009 at 6:35 pm

    Mazel Tov! Your furry babies are home. They look really strong, healthy and well-cared for. It’s going to be a good winter for you all.

    Reply
  • 6. Great Angora Goat Giveaway | All Things Goat  |  10/20/2009 at 6:43 pm

    […] Fiber Farm flock has arrived at their new home at Gilead Goats, where they’ve posted photos of the big day. The goats look strong, healthy and […]

    Reply
  • 7. Maureen (mljan)  |  10/20/2009 at 8:04 pm

    They’re wonderful. Love the picture from inside the truck. In the picture with you and the goats, who is the one looking at you from the center of the group? It’s a cutie.

    Best of luck with them.

    Reply
    • 8. countryelvis4  |  10/21/2009 at 8:25 am

      Thanks, that one looking at me in that photo is #91, who was known as Kaufmann, but has been dubbed Pedey, after Dustin Pedroia of the Red Sox, cuz he’s the littlest one but with a big attitude.

      Reply
  • 9. Lori aka knittingfool  |  10/20/2009 at 11:49 pm

    OH! Look at our babies! Thank you so much, I know it was a long day for you too.
    ShepherdSusie’s crook and I spent an afternoon herding those goats: definitely the right tool for the job! Well, that and those handy handles (horns) on top of their lil’ heads!

    Reply
  • 10. VT Grand View Farm  |  10/21/2009 at 12:03 pm

    Congratulations Kristen! They look wonderful!!

    Reply
  • 11. Sara  |  10/21/2009 at 8:00 pm

    Kristen, I am so happy for you…can’t wait to come and visit!!!

    Reply
  • 12. Heather  |  10/21/2009 at 8:21 pm

    Yayyy! What great pictures and what an exciting weekend for you! Keep us posted!

    Reply
  • 13. Kristin Husher  |  10/22/2009 at 6:50 pm

    Sigh! I want to come visit! They are so darling. You are a good goat mama. Now I know what the crook is for. I always thought it was for effect, to really look the part of a shepherd….

    Reply
    • 14. countryelvis4  |  10/23/2009 at 10:26 am

      Come whenever you want, you’re close by! Hope to see you soon.

      Reply
  • 15. Linda Mesavage  |  10/23/2009 at 10:26 am

    Love the pictures! What an exciting time for you!

    Reply
  • 16. Kala  |  01/25/2015 at 8:39 pm

    Webmaster do you want unlimited content for your
    blog? Serarch in google:
    Stottai’s Rewriter

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

