Ready or not, here they come…

10/16/2009 at 10:11 am 10 comments

Yes, I know…I’ve been saying I’m ready.  And I probably am.  Having those last minute panics, wondering how many things I forgot to plan for, how on earth I’ll get the goats to do what I want and go where I want them to go.  My fencing which was ordered and shipped last week is still not here.  

They are forecasting bad storms for tomorrow, so we may even head out tonight, to avoid driving in the bad weather.  So, I must rush home as quickly as I can from work, to feed the pigs, get their buckets ready for my fab helper this weekend, set up the fencing that will  (pretty please, powers that be  ?)have arrived and pack my clothes and be ready to go.

Collecting some straw and shavings for bedding, and hay for feed for the trip at lunch today.   The borrowed truck has been repaired, had an oil and filter change and is all gassed up and ready to go.  

Trying to remember to breathe, not worry, and know that help is just a phone call away, and that you can only learn so much from books and research.  It’s time to dive in and learn by doing.   Wish me luck!   I can’t wait to meet my little herd of beauties.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s ready… The Goats have come home to the Gilead…

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Muppetfeet  |  10/16/2009 at 12:20 pm

    You’re going to do awesome! Good luck with the fence and the weather. And have a ton of fun!

    Reply
  • 2. Zach  |  10/16/2009 at 1:06 pm

    Kristen, though it sounds like you have your work cut out for you, you are going to have an awesome time with these new guys! Good luck and BE CAREFUL if you caught up in the weather.

    Reply
  • 3. alke  |  10/16/2009 at 3:59 pm

    You will do fine! Good luck with the weather indeed and enjoy yourself.

    Reply
  • 4. Lori aka knittingfool  |  10/16/2009 at 10:48 pm

    Don’t worry; piece-o’-cake! With ShepherdSusie and the Aunties in your corner, you can’t lose!

    Reply
  • 5. Heather  |  10/17/2009 at 8:51 pm

    Everything will work out fine. I think those are some lucky goats! Enjoy the experience 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Stephanie russell  |  10/18/2009 at 12:51 pm

    Hope everything is going well. Hope the weather cooperates and the fencing. Enjoy getting to know your goats.

    Reply
  • 7. Jennifer King  |  10/18/2009 at 1:32 pm

    Hi Kristen,
    Great to meet you yesterday! Good luck tomorrow, I’ll be thinking of you. Takes lots of pics! Jen

    Reply
  • 8. LuAnn Saracen  |  10/19/2009 at 10:08 am

    Kristen, I enjoy reading your blog. You will do fine……there was a reason you won those goats! Good luck to you, I will keep reading to see how you do! Lulu

    Reply
  • 9. GrandmaTutu (Mary)  |  10/20/2009 at 10:18 am

    I see on Ravelry that you’re home with the sweeties and will post later today. it reminded me that I hadn’t read your blog since the first day you posted the link. I love what you’re doing, love your pix, and just think you’re going to do great. I’m really excited for you! Can’t wait to read more!!

    Reply
  • 10. vtwarped  |  10/20/2009 at 12:59 pm

    I can’t imagine why you haven’t had time to post the pics! I’ll check back. Can’t wait to see the LUCKY goats! Enjoy…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

