Preparations under way…

10/07/2009 at 10:02 am 2 comments

So, Ive been in contact with the fabulous Shepherd Susie and the date for the goats to come home is set, it will be Monday Oct. 19th!  They’ll come home from Rhinebeck with me (home of the NY Sheep and Wool Festival), which is more exciting than I can say.  It’s also really soon, like in 2 weeks. 

I’ve also been in touch with the run in shed folks, and Sand Creek Post and Beam, and the shed is being built and shipped in from Nebraska, so more like 3-4 weeks for it’s arrival. 

So, I am getting busy clearing out some space in the barn up by the house.  I’m hopeful that one stall and the front of the barn will be adequate space for them, so I have someplace to store stuff that I can’t get rid of right away.  And then fencing in an area to the north side of the barn for a winter yard, and just keeping them up there for the winter.  They’ll be closer to the house, so I won’t have to haul water so far, and predators will be much less of an issue.

I’ll be meeting Susie at Rhinebeck, and we’ll do a little shopping for necessary goat mama items together, which will be fantastic, so I know that I’m getting what I need and what works.  I’m totally excited to meet her, and I’m not sure that I’ll be very coherent, but I’m gonna do my best.   At least I won’t be feeling like shopping for fiber or spinning tools much, with the new goat excitement at it’s peak.  

I promise to figure out how to post pics here before the goats come home so everyone can get a look at my new kids.  And yes, there will be documentation of the entire event.  More to come.

Thanks again to all my friends, family, friends of friends and family, ravelers, etc. for your amazing support.  None of this would be happening without you, and I will never, ever forget it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The goats are a’comin home to the Gilead!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laila Jonsson  |  10/07/2009 at 9:51 pm

    How many goats? Females, males, kids?

    Reply
  • 2. DebbieB  |  10/08/2009 at 9:03 am

    Hooray!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

